Vielfalt der Bakterien in der Atmosphäre des Amazonas

Klein aber oho: Bioaerosole

Mehr über Aerosole herauszufinden, ist eine unserer Hauptaufgaben an ATTO. Dazu gehören anorganische Aerosole wie Ruß und andere Partikel, die z. B. bei der Verbrennung von Biomasse entstehen. Aber auch Bioaerosole, die vom Wald selbst emittiert werden, gehören dazu. Sie interessieren uns deshalb so sehr, weil sie für eine ganze Reihe von Prozessen wichtig sind. In der Atmosphäre streuen und absorbieren alle Aerosole Licht oder wirken als Wolkenkondensationskeime. Darüber hinaus verbreiten Bioaerosole wie Bakterien, Pilzsporen und Pollen biologisches Material und Arten in alle Welt.

Wir müssen jedoch mehr über die Zusammensetzung, die Menge, die Ausbreitung sowie die Quellen und Senken von Bioaerosolen in entlegenen Gebieten erfahren, um den vorindustriellen Hintergrundzustand der Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen. Die Kenntnis ihrer Rolle im Klimasystem wird uns dann helfen, zukünftige Klimaveränderungen abzuschätzen.

Der Amazonas ist eine jener abgelegenen Regionen, die in Teilen noch eine nahezu unberührte Atmosphäre aufweisen. Außerdem ist er eine so große Quelle von Bioaerosolen, dass sie auch im globalen Maßstab relevant sein könnte.

Deshalb haben Luciano Huergo und sein Team, zu dem auch die Doktoranden Felipe Souza und Price Mathai gehören, die Vielfalt der Bioaerosole, insbesondere der Bakterien, im Amazonas-Regenwald unter die Lupe genommen. Sie sammelten Luftproben in unterschiedlichen Jahreszeiten und in verschiedenen Höhen über dem Boden an ATTO. Dann filterten sie alle Bioaerosole heraus und sequenzierten ein Stück der DNA von Bakterien. Insbesondere analysierten sie die Sequenzen, die die 16S rRNA kodieren, einen Genmarker, der für die bakterielle Klassifizierung verwendet wird.

Probenahme-Setup für Bioaerosole nahe dem Waldboden
Probenahme-Setup für Bioaerosole nahe dem Waldboden

Jahreszeiten statt Höhe

Ihre Daten zeigen, dass die Bakterien des Amazonas-Regenwaldes vielfältig sind. Felipe Souza, Price Mathai und ihre Co-Autoren fanden bis zu 1000 Arten in einer einzigen Probe. Von diesen waren 128 Arten in allen Proben vorhanden. Diese scheinen die Basis der Bakterienarten in der Region zu bilden. Die Zusammensetzung der anderen Arten variierte hauptsächlich mit den jahreszeitlichen Veränderungen der Temperatur, der relativen Luftfeuchtigkeit und des Niederschlags. Diese meteorologischen Parameter können sich direkt oder indirekt auf die Bakteriengemeinschaften auswirken, da sie den saisonalen Zyklus der Pflanzengemeinschaften beeinflussen.

Andererseits konnten sie keine signifikanten Unterschiede zwischen dem Boden und dem Kronendach feststellen. Die gesammelten Daten deuten darauf hin, dass der Boden nicht der Hauptlieferant für schwebende Bakterien im Amazonas-Regenwald ist. Stattdessen deutet die Identität einiger Bakterien darauf hin, dass die Blattoberfläche von Pflanzen als Quelle für schwebende Bakterien dienen kann. Aufgrund der immensen Anzahl von Pflanzen im Amazonas-Regenwald ist die Oberfläche der Pflanzenblätter um einige Größenordnungen größer als die Bodenoberfläche. Es mag also nicht überraschen, dass dieser Lebensraum eine so große Bakterienpopulation fördert.

Sie identifizierten in den Aerosolproben auch Bakterienarten, die am Stickstoffkreislauf beteiligt sind. Insbesondere identifizierten sie Arten, die das träge atmosphärische Stickstoffgas in andere Stickstoffformen umwandeln können, die Pflanzen zum Aufbau von Biomasse nutzen können. Diese Bakterienarten könnten als Bio-Dünger im Amazonaswald wirken.

Souza et al. veröffentlichten die Studie “Influence of seasonality on the aerosol microbiome of the Amazon rainforest” in der Zeitschrift Science of the Total Environment. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.144092

Similar articles

Lufteinlassschlauch an der Spitze des ATTO-Turms. © Eva Pfannerstill / MPI-C

Biogene flüchtige organische Verbindungen entfernen durch chemische Reaktionen OH aus der Atmosphäre, was Prozesse wie die Wolkenbildung beeinflusst. In einer neuen Studie zeigen Pfannerstill et al. die wichtigen Beiträge von bisher nicht berücksichtigten BVOC-Spezies und unterschätzten OVOCs zur gesamten OH-Reaktivität auf.

GRAEGOR Detektoreinheit zur Messung von Spurengasen wie Stickstoff im Laborcontainer. © Robbie Ramsay / University of Edinburgh

Ramsay et al. haben anorganische Spurengase wie Ammoniak und Salpetersäure sowie Aerosole in der Trockenzeit an ATTO gemessen. Sie sollen als Basiswerte für deren Konzentration und Flüsse in der Atmosphäre dienen und sind ein erster Schritt zur Entschlüsselung der Austauschprozesse von anorganischen Spurengasen zwischen dem Amazonas-Regenwald und der Atmosphäre.

Felipe Souza und Co-Autoren sammelten nun Bioaerosole an ATTO. Dann extrahierten und analysierten sie die DNA, um die vorhandenen Gemeinschaften zu bestimmen. Dies ist die erste Studie, die die Gemeinschaft der Mikroorganismen in Aerosolen im Amazonasgebiet beschreibt. Sie fanden viele verschiedene Arten von Bakterien und Pilzen. Einige waren kosmopolitische Arten, die auf der ganzen Welt zu finden sind. Aber sie identifizierten auch viele, die für bestimmte Umgebungen wie Boden oder Wasser spezifisch sind. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass die Atmosphäre als wichtiges Mittel für den Bakterienaustausch zwischen Pflanzen, Boden und Wasser dienen kann.

Mira Pöhlker und ihr Team haben am 80-Meter-Turm an ATTO kontinuierlich Aerosole und deren Eigenschaften in der Atmosphäre gemessen und damit die erste derartige Langzeitaufzeichnung im Amazonasgebiet geschaffen. Sie analysierten die Daten in zwei aufeinander folgenden Publikationen. Die zweite wurde nun in ACP veröffentlicht.

Diversity of bacteria in the Amazonian atmosphere

Tiny but mighty: bioaerosols

Learning more about aerosols is one of our major assignments at ATTO. This includes inorganic aerosols like soot and other particles associated with biomass burning, for example. But it also includes bioaerosols emitted by the forest itself. We care about them so much because they are important for a whole range of processes. In the atmosphere, all aerosols scatter and absorb light or act as cloud condensation nuclei. In addition, bioaerosols such as bacteria, fungi spores and pollen disperse biological material and species far and wide.

But we need to learn more about the composition, quantity, dispersal, as well as sources and sinks of bioaerosols in remote areas to better understand the pre-industrial background state of the atmosphere. Knowing their role in the climate system will then help us to estimate future climate change.

The Amazon is one of those remote regions that, in parts, still has a near-pristine atmosphere. Furthermore, it is such a large source of bioaerosols that it might be relevant on a global scale.

Therefore, Luciano Huergo and this team, including the Ph.D. students Felipe Souza and Price Mathai took a close look at the diversity of bioaerosols, and specifically bacteria, in the Amazon rainforest. They collected air samples during distinct seasons and at different heights above the ground at ATTO. Then they filtered out all bioaerosols and sequenced a piece of DNA of bacteria. Specifically, they analyzed the sequences encoding the 16S rRNA, a gene marker used for bacterial classification.

Sampling set-up for bioaerosols near the forest floor
Sampling set-up for bioaerosols near the forest floor

Seasons over height

Their data reveal that the bacteria of the Amazon Rainforest are diverse. Felipe Souza, Price Mathai and their co-authors found up to 1000 species in a single sample. Out of those, 128 species were present in all samples. Those appear to make up the core Bacteria species of the region. The composition of the other species varied mainly with seasonal changes in temperature, relative humidity, and precipitation. These meteorological parameters may affect the bacterial communities directly or indirectly because they influence the seasonal cycle of plant communities.

On the other hand, they did not detect significant differences between the ground and canopy levels. The collected data suggest that the soil is not a major contributor to airborne bacteria in the Amazon rainforest. Instead, the identity of some bacteria implies that the leaf surface of plants may act as a source of airborne bacteria. Because of the immense number of plants in the Amazon rainforest, the surface of their plant leaves outnumbers the soil surface area by some orders of magnitude. So it may not come as a surprise that this habitat promotes such a large population of bacteria.

They also identified in the aerosol samples of bacterial species that participate in the nitrogen cycle. Specifically, they identified species that can convert the inert atmospheric nitrogen gas into other nitrogen forms which plants can use to build biomass. These bacterial species may act as biofertilizers within the Amazon forest.

Souza et al. published the study “Influence of seasonality on the aerosol microbiome of the Amazon rainforest” in the journal Science of the Total Environment. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.144092

Similar articles

GRAEGOR Detektoreinheit im Laborcontainer. © Robbie Ramsay / University of Edinburgh

Ramsay et al. measured inorganic trace gases such as ammonia and nitric acid and aerosols in the dry season at ATTO. They are to serve as baseline values for their concentration and fluxes in the atmosphere and are a first step in deciphering exchange processes of inorganic trace gases between the Amazon rainforest and the atmosphere.

Smoke from biomass burning rises into the atmosphere over the central Amazon basin. © NASA

Soot and other aerosols from biomass burning can influence regional and global weather and climate. Lixia Liu and her colleagues studied how this affects the Amazon Basin during the dry season. While there are many different interactions between biomass burning aerosols and climate, they found that they overall lead to fewer and weaker rain events in the Amazon rainforest.

Graphical Abstract

In a new study, Dr. Haijie Tong and co-authors studied a subset of PM2.5, the so-called highly oxygenated molecules (HOMs) and its relationship with radical yield and aerosol oxidative potential. They analyzed fine particulate matter in the air in multiple locations. This including the highly polluted megacity Bejing and in the pristine rainforest at ATTO. They wanted to get insights into the chemical characteristic and evolutions of these HOM particles. In particular, they wanted to find out more about the potential of HOMs to form free radicals. These are highly reactive species with unpaired electrons.

Felipe Souza and co-authors now collected bioaerosols at our ATTO site. Then they extracted and analyzed the DNA to determine the communities present. This is the first study that described the community of microorganisms within aerosols in the Amazon. They found many different types of bacteria and fungi. Some were cosmopolitan taxa, but they also identified many that are specific to certain environments such as soil or water. This suggests that the atmosphere may act as an important gateway for bacteria to be exchanged between plants, soil, and water.

Wu et al. collected and analyzed aerosols in two locations: the city of Manaus, a large urban area in Brazil, and the ATTO site in the heart of the forest. The aerosol compositions varied largly. At ATTO most aerosols were emitted by the forest itself, while in Manaus, anthropogenic aerosols were very common. The results were published in ACP.

Mira Pöhlker and her team continuously measured aerosols and their properties in the atmosphere at the 80 m tower at ATTO, thereby created the first such long-term record in the Amazon. They analyzed the data in two subsequent paper. The second was now published in ACP.

Moran-Zuloaga et al. analyzed the coarse fraction of aerosols every 5 minutes for over 3 years at ATTO. They found that the composition remains fairly constant throughout the year, except for a short period in the wet season when Saharan dust occurs regularly. They published their results in ACP.